The Chicago Bloc[k]

Home » Student Literature » I am from wherever you want to be

I am from wherever you want to be

By: Laura Paton (lpaton2@uic.edu)

I am from wherever you want to be.

I am from a place that no one knows
somewhere that only exists between the purest forms of trees.
I am from a place with fairies and wizards,
witches and werewolves,
where one step can transport you anywhere.
I am from turquoise trees and pink seas
that sparkle like sequins in the sun
and are as cool as droplets of mead.
I am from velvety grass, as soft as a bed of rose petals,
and bumpy castle walls that lead up to sky-high towers.
If you listen, you can hear the music.
I am from that music, and it washes over me as I walk through the velvety grass,
and as I smell the sweet floral mix that assaults my nostrils
if I get too close to her garden.
I am from the sweet taste of paper
as a wet finger pinches the bottom
and moves me along.
I am from a place that no one knows,
that doesn’t really exist.

But it might if you want it to.

Leave a Reply

