The Chicago Bloc[k]

Home » Student Literature » Dear Somebodies

Dear Somebodies

By: Minh Tran (mtran21@uic.edu)

Check out some student poetry!

“This was written when I was still trying to figure out my confidence.  It’s a mask that I wore- cliché, I know, but then again… all these cliché stories and poems must mean that I wasn’t the only one feeling this way.”

Dear Somebodies

I may look as if I don’t care,
Even though you tell all.
Your bitterness, your regrets, your anger.

I’m sorry I have never
acted sympathetic,
or spoken comforts.

But know that these are feelings
I have trained to keep inside
For so long.

I have built my own Ice Age,
and the glaciers encase
my heart.

Do not expect a sudden change.
Give it time, and you may witness
the coming of Spring.

Note from the poet:

This was written when I was still trying to figure out my confidence.  It’s a mask that I wore- cliché, I know, but then again… all these cliché stories and poems must mean that I wasn’t the only one feeling this way.

Leave a Reply

