The Chicago Bloc[k]

Home » Student Literature » Human Mind

Human Mind

By: Julia Aydin (jaydin2@uic.edu)

Check out some amazing student art!

I was drawing an illustration out of my anatomy textbook, do to procrastination of actually studying the content, when I realized that the veins weaving through the human head reminded me of flowers. I then decided to depict a floral arrangement in place of the brain that had been depicted in the reference illustration. However, I do believe that the human mind is forever blossoming with every new idea. New neurons and connections are made everyday, our mind is like a garden to be maintained. Without care or tending to, it withers. Too much information and it floods. KNS 252 flooded my mind garden.”

Note from the artist:

I was drawing an illustration out of my anatomy textbook, do to procrastination of actually studying the content, when I realized that the veins weaving through the human head reminded me of flowers. I then decided to depict a floral arrangement in place of the brain that had been depicted in the reference illustration. However, I do believe that the human mind is forever blossoming with every new idea. New neurons and connections are made everyday, our mind is like a garden to be maintained. Without care or tending to, it withers. Too much information and it floods. KNS 252 flooded my mind garden.

Leave a Reply

