The Chicago Bloc[k]

Home » Student Voices » Let the Binge Begin

Let the Binge Begin

By: Emiliano Vazquez-Parrales, Section Editor for Student Voices (evazqu20@uic.edu)

Well UIC, it’s finally that time of the semester: where we all drop the burdens of our schoolwork and take a well deserved week long break.  Some of you, like myself, will be leaving this snow globe of a town for warmer settings and enjoying endless nights of shenanigans and mischief, but to those of you staying I can only suggest one thing to do: sleep and watch Netflix.

If the weather for spring break didn’t look so glum, I would suggest going for a run on the lakefront, exploring the city’s hidden treasures, or go play some ball on the outdoor courts.  Alas a cruel twist of fate has left you all to bask in the warm glow of a computer screen covered head to toe in your bed sheets.

Don’t worry; there is plenty to watch in the coming week, since I’m sure many of you have fallen behind on the latest HBO or AMC drama.  Hourlong episodes featuring some handsome actor beside some fair actress awaits you as they bob and weave through the plot twists and eerie moments of suspense.  Though I won’t be enjoying it myself, I hear the series finale of Breaking Bad is very good, True Detective has received some critical acclaim, and of course their is always catching up to do on The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones.

For those of you that don’t have cable, you can always jump onto Netflix or Amazon and spend endless hours binging on House of Cards, Hemlock Grove, The Following, or Dr. Who.  Don’t forget all the obscure Discovery shows that don’t have enough regular viewers that are now available, just because we’re on a break from school doesn’t mean we can’t learn something.  Of course, if none of those floats well with you, there are the endless amounts of cartoons and sitcoms that are funnier if you enjoy them with drinks and chips.

All I am saying is that it’s your break, and if you want to binge watch How I Met Your Mother and sleep ten hours a day, then by golly you should go right ahead and do it.  Forget the fact that you live in one of the greatest cities in the world, it’s too cold to do anything anyway.  Museums, theaters, Sports teams, parties every other block, restaurants, concert venues, exercise; all those things cost money and require you to get out of bed.  Trust me, if I were you I would much rather stay at home and hibernate until school starts off again.  I want to squander my youth in front of a glowing haven of constant cheap entertainment but woe is me I must go and have an adventure.  All I ask of you all is please, no spoilers.

Leave a Reply

